Modify

Ticket #461 (closed defect: wontfix)

Opened 14 years ago

Last modified 14 years ago

bundle change not getting triggered by negated group section

Reported by: peter@… Owned by: desai
Priority: major Milestone: Bcfg2 0.9.5 Release
Component: bcfg2-client Version:
Keywords: Bundler Cc:

Description

i'm using bcfg2 to manage monit. based on group membership, i have it creating various files in /etc/monit/monit.d. there is one file which corresponds to a service that should be running if the machine is using bare drives, but not if it's using a hardware raid array (groups 'aacraid' or 'megaraid') in my setup.

the section of the bundle that corresponds to this is as follows:

    <Group name='basic'>
	    <ConfigFile name='/etc/monit/monit.d/ssh.conf' />
	    <ConfigFile name='/etc/monit/monit.d/sysklogd.conf' />
	    <ConfigFile name='/etc/monit/monit.d/ntpd.conf' />
	    <ConfigFile name='/etc/monit/monit.d/cron.conf' />
	    <Group name='aacraid' negate='true' >
	      <Group name='megaraid' negate='true' >
    	        <ConfigFile name='/etc/monit/monit.d/smartmontools.conf' />
  	      </Group>
	    </Group>
	  </Group>

i also have an action which clears out /etc/monit/monit.d whenever the bundle gets updated.

however, when i add either 'megaraid' or 'aacraid' to a host's profile group and then re-run bcfg2, bundle modification doesn't get triggered, and the file does not get removed. however, if i manually clobber one of the files in that directory, the bundle is updated and things go as they should (i.e. smartmontools.conf does not get created).

am i misunderstanding bundle modification triggers, or is this actually a bug?

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 14 years ago by desai

  • Status changed from new to assigned

How are you specifying the action?

comment:2 Changed 14 years ago by desai

  • Status changed from assigned to closed
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Milestone set to Bcfg2 0.9.5 Release

From the traces you posted, I think this you need to set the action to run always, at least if you plan to change things in the .d directory. We should probably come up with a better solution for this, but setting when='always' is the most robust way to do things for now.

WARNING! You need to establish a session before you can create or edit tickets. Otherwise the ticket will get treated as spam.

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.