Modify

Ticket #479 (closed defect: fixed)

Opened 15 years ago

Last modified 15 years ago

Bcfg2 0.9.4 installs some package twice, causing some bundles to fail

Reported by: [email protected] Owned by: desai
Priority: major Milestone: Bcfg2 0.9.5 Release
Component: bcfg2-client Version: 0.9.x
Keywords: Cc:

Description

I observed a strange behavior in version 0.9.4 on Ubuntu. If the single pass installation fails (for instance, because it tries to install an outdated version of some package), the multi-pass installation will not mark the packages as installed and will install twice the package. Moreover, this is causing configuration problems in a bundle.

Here is the bundle in question :

<Bundle name='linux-vserver' version='1.0'>
    <Group name='deb'>
        <Package name='util-vserver'/>
        <Directory name='/vservers'/>
        <SymLink name='/etc/vservers/.defaults/vdirbase' to='/vservers'/>
        <ConfigFile name='/etc/default/util-vserver'/>
        <ConfigFile name='/etc/sysctl.conf'/>
        <ConfigFile name='/etc/init.d/init-var-run-vservers'/>
        <Action name='init-var-run-vservers'/>
    </Group>
</Bundle>

The problem is that the package specifies a symlink from /etc/vservers/.defaults/vdirbase to /var/lib/vservers, which the bundle overrides with a symlink to /vservers. In order, the following happens :

  • Package util-vserver gets installed. For some reason, state is not set to true.
  • Symlink is made.
  • Package util-vserver is installed again, overriding the symlink

Thus the final state is not the one described in the bundle. Running the bcfg2 client one again "fixes" the problem. Even when the client is run in kevlar mode the same issue happens.

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 15 years ago by desai

Is this still happening for you with 0.9.5pre5?

comment:2 Changed 15 years ago by desai

  • Milestone set to Bcfg2 0.9.5 Release

comment:3 Changed 15 years ago by desai

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

WARNING! You need to establish a session before you can create or edit tickets. Otherwise the ticket will get treated as spam.

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.