Modify

Ticket #567 (closed defect: fixed)

Opened 14 years ago

Last modified 14 years ago

clients.xml with XInclude overwritten

Reported by: [email protected] Owned by: desai
Priority: major Milestone:
Component: bcfg2-server Version: 0.9.x
Keywords: Cc:

Description

I am running bcfg2-server 0.9.6-pre1.

I changed our Metadata/clients.xml to:

<Clients xmlns:xi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XInclude" version="4.0">
 <xi:include href="custom-clients.xml" />
 <xi:include href="nightly-clients.xml" />
</Clients>

nightly-clients.xml is generated from a database. custom-clients.xml contains clients that don't fit in our database.

When a client that is not found in clients.xml connects to this server and specifies a profile, the server overwrites clients.xml to include custom-clients.xml, nightly-clients.xml, and the new client:

<Clients xmlns:xi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XInclude" version="4.0">
 <Clients version="3.0">
   <Client profile="hardy32" pingable="N" pingtime="1204219021.73" name="sophie.domain.edu"/>
   <Client profile="hardy32" pingable="Y" pingtime="1209574463.07" name="lizard.domain.edu"/>
   <Client profile="hardy32" pingable="Y" pingtime="1209574463.08" name="linux96.domain.edu"/>
   <Client profile="hardy32" pingable="Y" pingtime="1209574463.07" name="linux185.domain.edu"/>
   <Client profile="ibm13" pingable="Y" pingtime="1209574463.07" name="ibm13.domain.edu"/>
</Clients>
 <Clients version="20080620"><Client profile="hardy32" name="shoryuken.domain.edu"/><Client profile="hardy32" name="linux13.domain.edu"/></Clients>
<Client profile="hardy32" name="linux3.domain.edu"/></Clients>

Can this behavior be prevented? linux3 was going to be added to nightly-clients.xml this evening.

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 14 years ago by brestick

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

Resolved in svn revision [c746bdc6f47d023ff13fae99f218aac0cd54003e] (SVN r4706). Metadata plugin will load all clients, but now will only write back the ones in the original clients.xml.

WARNING! You need to establish a session before you can create or edit tickets. Otherwise the ticket will get treated as spam.

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.