Modify

Ticket #595 (closed defect: fixed)

Opened 14 years ago

Last modified 14 years ago

group categories not handled quite right

Reported by: Jim Rowan <[email protected]…> Owned by: desai
Priority: minor Milestone: Bcfg2 0.9.6 Release
Component: bcfg2-server Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description

I tried something which turns out to be illegal in my group config, and was surprised with the results. I'm not sure which aspects of this are defective, if any.

from Metadata/groups.xml:

  <Group name='sles'>
    <Group name='suse'/>
  </Group>
  <Group name='sles9' category='sles-version'>
    <Group name='sles'/>
  </Group>
  <Group name='sles9sp1' category='sles-version'>
    <Group name='sles9'/>
  </Group>
  <Group name='sles9sp3' category='sles-version'>
    <Group name='sles9sp1'/>
  </Group>

Output from bcfg2-info groups:

 sles             | no       |                 | suse,rpm,linux,unix
 sles9            | no       | sles-version    | sles,suse,rpm,linux,unix
 sles9sp1         | no       | sles-version    | sles9,sles,suse,rpm,linux,unix
 sles9sp3         | no       | sles-version    | sles9sp1 

So, I have two issues.

1.) The configuration validated with no mention that I had this heirarchy of groups with the same category. Probably, some warning is appropriate at the very least.

2.) The doc says "A group can only contain one instance of a group in any category." Literally taken, this is ambiguous (I believe) with respect to the situation of a group including another instance of the same category. However, the intent seems clear and I think the first level inclusion of sles9 in sles9sp1 should have failed.

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 14 years ago by desai

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Milestone set to Bcfg2 0.9.6 Release

I fixed the metadata plugin to log category-based group suppression properly. This should help with the clearness of things. This is committed in [4d23a9ea84291522dcd18dd996ae4ba03eeb6a84] (SVN r4896)

WARNING! You need to establish a session before you can create or edit tickets. Otherwise the ticket will get treated as spam.

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.