Modify

Ticket #785 (closed enhancement: invalid)

Opened 10 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

Lock out clients from the server.

Reported by: https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=AItOawmQmn0B7szSWU05XNIWqq49So7cIisAOpI Owned by: desai
Priority: major Milestone: Bcfg2 1.4.0 Release
Component: bcfg2-server Version: 1.0
Keywords: Cc: cstankaitis@…

Description

It would be good to be able to via a flag "lockout=True/False?" on the server side to lock a client out from the bcfg2 server. This would allow for 2 scenario's which I believe the user base would find useful.

1) Right now I am running a large db job on a server due to a failure re-importing over 25 million rows of data. Some services and components on that box which interact with the db are turned off so they don't touch the db until the re-import is done. Because this server is a member of a group of servers who all have the same services and scripts managed by bcfg2 I can not just turn them off on bcfg2 server and let the rest of the servers stop processing for the one that is messed up. I work around this right now by deleting the bcfg2 cron hourly so the client will just not check back in and turn things back on. when I am done I need to remember to rerun bcfg2 manually to catch up changes and get cron.hourly back. If I could just lock the client out on the server it would be a simple fix.

2) This would make people happy who can only push fixes during a window. they can lock out all their clients on the server so even if they check in the server will not give them anything new, then when their dev testing is done, or window is there they can unlock the clients on bcfg2-server and let them update.

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=AItOawmQmn0B7szSWU05XNIWqq49So7cIisAOpI

  • Cc cstankaitis@… added

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by dclark

  • Milestone changed from Bcfg2 1.0.0 Release to Bcfg2 1.0.1 Release

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by solj

  • Milestone changed from Bcfg2 1.0.1 Release to Bcfg2 1.1.0 Release

comment:4 Changed 9 years ago by solj

  • Milestone changed from Bcfg2 1.1.0 Release to Bcfg2 1.2.0 Release

comment:5 Changed 8 years ago by solj

  • Milestone changed from Bcfg2 1.2.0 Release to Bcfg2 1.3.0 Release

comment:6 Changed 7 years ago by solj

  • Milestone changed from Bcfg2 1.3.0 Release to Bcfg2 1.4.0 Release

comment:7 Changed 4 years ago by solj

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to invalid

It seems as though something similar can be accomplished via blacklist/whitelist/dryrun modes. If I'm missing something, please reopen this ticket in github.

WARNING! You need to establish a session before you can create or edit tickets. Otherwise the ticket will get treated as spam.

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.