Modify

Ticket #929 (closed enhancement: fixed)

Opened 11 years ago

Last modified 11 years ago

bcfg2-server should not remove comments from clients.xml

Reported by: m4z <686f6c6d@…> Owned by: laszlo
Priority: minor Milestone: Bcfg2 1.2.0 Release
Component: bcfg2-server Version: 1.0
Keywords: Cc:

Description

Due to an error on my part, a client was recognized as new and added to the config:

Asserting client foo.example.org profile to basic
Creating new client: foo.example.org, profile basic

That's fine, however when i opened my (heavily commented) clients.xml afterwards, all the comments where removed. ):

Is this a feature? If so, where is the red, bold, blinking warning sign?

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by m4z <686f6c6d@…>

What's even worse is that bcfg2-server does not check if the file was modified since it last read it, and overwrites the clients.xml with the last version it had in memory.

So if I...

  1. run a server without a file monitor(0)
  2. change the groups.xml and save it
  3. an unknown/new client connects before bcfg2-server is restarted

...then all changes from step 2 will be overwritten.

(0): On openSUSE, I'm somewhat forced to do that right now, because gamin does not exist in the "main" repositories, and fam does not (yet?) work for me.

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by laszlo

  • Owner changed from desai to laszlo
  • Status changed from new to accepted

Comments stripping fixed in 00bf7d31dd04f2f33a71c6fbd88a5349f5bcd482. Working on the overwrite issue.

comment:3 Changed 11 years ago by laszlo

  • Status changed from accepted to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

clients.xml is now reloaded if Pseudo is used. 2684e59560d0bd799b78d9a432ff15f713298333

WARNING! You need to establish a session before you can create or edit tickets. Otherwise the ticket will get treated as spam.

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
<Author field>
Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.